I was kind of admiring Days Gone for having two equally unlikeable survivor camps.

Initially I was sending survivors I encountered to Hot Springs as I deeply disliked the militia camp. Then I came to see Hot Springs as basically a labour camp and started sending people to the militia on the basis that at least some concept of individual liberty was central to the camp.

I was getting to the point where I almost wanted to say to some of the people I was rescuing: just stay in the car, it’s safer. But probably doing forced labour is still kind of better than being eaten alive or executed by thieves.

And then just as I was admiring the way the game was forcing me to make some pretty unpalatable choices a new camp was revealed. Iron Mike might have some dark secrets but I’m guessing the fact that there are several different personalities with different points of view in the camp mean this is the one I’m meant to be rooting for.

I would like to have that expectation subverted though.