It’s interesting to see the crossover in card games between computer implementations and physical games. I started to read through the Dark Souls card game rules and I felt that I’d like to actually play a digital version of it and avoid the hassle of having to setup the cards, boards and tokens.

The encounter and treasure draws felt like the loot tables in Slay the Spire, which has done so much to popularise card metaphors for computer games and I wondered whether it is easier to prototype games as physical or digital versions of themselves.

All of this made me wonder why I actually bought the game in the first place and I think it came from a different time in a way. When something that could be played with multiple real players and solo sounded great whereas now if you think you are mostly going to be doing things solo then there is a real question as to why you wouldn’t just take the digital version of it.